Connect with us

NC State Basketball

NC State’s Markell Johnson 1 of Andy Katz’s Favorites to Win the 2020 Jerry West Award


on’s Andy Katz is already looking to next year, and released his 11 favorites (and 14 other contenders) to win the 2020 Jerry West Award, given to the nations best shooting guard annually, beginning in 2015.

NC State Senior Markell Johnson ranked 6th on Katz’s list.

6. Markell Johnson, Sr., NC State: The Wolfpack got its stat stuffer back on the roster after Johnson decided to return to campus. He averaged a dozen points a game last season. Expect that number to climb as well as his overall production.

  1. Myles Powell, Sr., Seton Hall
  2. Anthony Edwards, Fr., Georgia
  3.  Cole Anthony, Fr., North Carolina
  4. Aaron Henry, So., Michigan State
  5. Sam Merrill, Sr., Utah State
  6. Markell Johnson, Sr., NC State
  7. Jarron Cumberland, Sr., Cincinnati
  8. Alpha Diallo, Sr., Providence
  9. Davide Moretti, Jr., Texas Tech
  10. Marcus Evans, Sr., VCU
  11. Tyrese Maxey, Fr., Kentucky
  12. Trent Frazier, Jr., Illinois
  13. Remy Martin, Jr., Arizona State
  14. Braxton Key, Sr., Virginia
  15. Kellan Grady, Jr., Davidson
  16. Ty-Shon Alexander, Jr., Creighton
  17. David Collins, Jr., South Florida
  18. Joe Wieskamp, So., Iowa
  19. Fatts Russell, Jr., Rhode Island
  20. Cartier Diarra Jr., Kansas State
  21. TJ Gibbs, Sr., Notre Dame
  22. Kyle Lofton, So., St. Bonaventure
  23. Matt Coleman III., Jr., Texas
  24. Quade Green, So, Washington
  25. Dejon Jarreau, Jr., Houston (NCAA)

Duke’s RJ Barrett won the Jerry West Award this year.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply