Connect with us

Popolizio Named National Coach of the Year Finalist


Popolizio Named National Coach of the Year Finalist

Popolizio Named National Coach of the Year Finalist

RALEIGH, N.C. – Coming off the program’s first ACC regular season title since 2004 and a school record nine NCAA automatic qualifiers, NC State wrestling head coach Pat Popolizio has been named one of eight finalists for the 2018 Theraworx Coach of the Year.

In addition to the nine automatic qualifiers this season, NC State also set a new school record with seven receiving national seeds (top-16 in each weight class) and also a program-best five receiving top-five seeds, including the No. 1 overall seed at 157 pounds. NC State also finished 15-2 in duals this season, and placed second at the 2018 ACC Championships with three individual champions.

Previously, Popolizio was named FloWrestling’s National Coach of the Year in 2016 after leading the squad to a school-best 23-1 dual record.

The award is presented to the coach that has demonstrated outstanding effort throughout the season in developing and elevating their program on campus and in the community.

The winner of this award, for Division I, will be announced on Tuesday March 13 in Cleveland Ohio prior to the National Championship tournament.

In 2016, The National Wrestling Coaches Association partnered with Theraworx, for Theraworx to become the Official Prevention Partner of the NWCA. Theraworx Protect, is a topical formulation that optimizes and preserves the skin’s natural antimicrobial function.

This year’s finalists are:
Ohio State – Tom Ryan
Lock Haven – Scott Moore
Appalachian State – John Mark Bentley
Missouri – Brian Smith
Eastern Michigan – Dave Bollard
NC State – Pat Popolizio
Virginia Tech – Tony Robie
Lehigh – Pat Santoro

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of

More in Uncategorized

Recent Comments

Now Trending

To Top